Database Results for Your Selections
Results 1 - 7 of 7
This is a comprehensive source for the study of the Bible, biblical history, and the reception history of the Bible. The site combines scholarly texts and reference works with critical tools for Biblical study.Expand
Popular resources on this site include the full text of the New Oxford Annotated Bible, concordances for the NRSV and NAB translations, the Oxford Bible Commentary, the Oxford Companion to the Bible, several of the Oxford Encyclopedias, the Oxford Illustrated History of the Bible, the Oxford Bible Atlas, and many more resources from Oxford University Press.
Subjects: Classics, History Ancient -400, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Modern 1800-, Jewish Studies, Philosophy, Religion
The Atlantic History module of the Oxford Bibliographies is a reliable, selective, and authoritative guide to the best literature in the field of Atlantic History.Expand
It is designed to help researchers find reliable resources quickly. Each article is peer-reviewed and updated regularly.Walk-in users: OK
Subjects: African American Studies, African Studies Sub-Saharan, Area Studies, Ethnic Studies, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Modern 1800-, History US, History World, Latin American and Caribbean Studies
As a key part of Western literary and cultural history, British and Irish literature encompasses a massive range of periods, authors, and works that make it one of the most active fields in academia today.Expand
A great deal of this work has moved online with the most recent scholarship, research, and statistics appearing in online databases. With advances in online searching and database technologies, researchers and practitioners can easily access library catalogs, bibliographic indexes, and other lists that show thousands of resources that might also be useful to them. Oxford Bibliographies Online’s British and Irish Literature provides expert guidance through articles and citations.
Subjects: English and American Literature, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History Modern 1800-, History Early Modern 1450-1800
The Victorian era was highly conscious of its own relation to the past – its ‘heritage’ or place in history – but it also sensed its role in shaping the future.Expand
For modern readers, it has come to represent both our literary past and the beginnings of modernity. Students and researchers alike can rely on Oxford Bibliographies in Victorian Literature to offer a reliable, up-to-date guide to the best literature in the field through essays and citations.
Subjects: History Modern 1800-, English and American Literature
Provides full, accurate, concise, and readable articles on noteworthy people in all walks of life. No living person is included: annual updates cover individuals who have died after 2000.Expand
The ODNB covers people who were born and lived in the British Isles, people from the British Isles who achieved recognition in other countries, people who lived in territories formerly connected to the British Isles at a time when they were in contact with British rule, and people born elsewhere who settled in the British Isles for significant periods or whose visits enabled them to leave a mark on British life. Allows 2-3 simultaneous users.
Subjects: Comparative Literature, French Literature and Language, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Modern 1800-, History Middle Ages 400-1450, Biographies
Provides online access to more than 3,000 articles and electronic resources in English on the Islamic world, includes more than 150 primary source documents with editorial instructions, and has a glossary of Islamic terms.Expand
Also includes two interpretations and one concordance of the Koran.
Subjects: Archives and Primary Sources, Area Studies, Art and Architecture, Biographies, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History Modern 1800-, Religion, Middle East Studies
This database includes fully-indexed, cross-searchable full text content from more than 170 subject dictionaries, language reference and subject reference works in the arts, humanities, social sciences and sciences.Expand
Also included are English dictionaries and bilingual dictionaries of French, German, Spanish and Italian.
Subjects: Art and Architecture, Biographies, Classics, Economics, English and American Literature, Health, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History Modern 1800-, History US, History World, Law, Music, Philosophy, Political Science, Reference Sources, Religion, Science and Technology