Results 26 - 50 of 972
The Acta Sanctorum Database is an electronic version of the complete printed text of Acta Sanctorum, from the edition published in sixty-eight volumes by the Societe des Bollandistes in Antwerp and Brussels.Expand
It is a collection of documents examining the lives of saints, organised according to each saints feast day, and runs from the two January volumes published in 1643 to the Propylaeum to December published in 1940. It contains the entire Acta Sanctorum, including all prefatory material, original texts, critical apparatus and indices. Bibliotheca Hagiographica Latina reference numbers, essential references for scholars, are also included.Unlimited users; walk-in users allowed
Subjects: History Early Modern 1450-1800, Religion
ADMYTE is an online resource that contains 55,000 pages of semi-paleographic transcriptions of over 290 medieval Spanish manuscripts dating prior to 1615. The texts include works on chivalry and nobility, scientific texts, chronicles and biographies, dictionaries and grammars, encyclopedias, legal treatises, poetry and prose, legal works, "libros sapieciales," and travel books.Expand15 simultaneous users
Subjects: History Middle Ages 400-1450, Spanish
Advanced Placement Source is designed to meet the needs of high school students enrolled in various AP courses. It contains more than 6,100 full-text journals and over 200,000 photos, maps and flags.Expand
Subject areas include mathematics; physics; chemistry; biology; computer science; human geography; psychology; economics & statistics; government & politics; environmental science; U.S., European and world history; the arts and music.
Subjects: Multidisciplinary Databases
Covering mainly the social sciences, humanities, development studies and environmental studies, this database is a compilation based on the annual Africa Bibliography, one of the most important and extensive bibliographic resources for Africa (entire continent).Expand
It includes articles, books, book chapters and essays. Provides indexing for African-related materials in over 600 journals. Emphasis on English language materials.
Subjects: African Studies Sub-Saharan, Anthropology, Area Studies, History World
Combines African Studies and South African Studies databases to provide access to multi-disciplinary information on Africa. African Studies includes a wide range of information sources (books, journals, radio and television programs, newspapers, etc.) from Africa, Europe, and the USA.Expand
Subjects: African Studies Sub-Saharan, Anthropology, Area Studies, French Literature and Language, History World
Biographical information, including photographs and illustrations. AABD includes profiles and full-text sketches providing both biographical detail and narratives chronicling the lives of Black Americans.Expand
The majority of the content comes from Black Biographical Dictionaries 1790-1950. However, newly uncovered dictionaries, other reference sources, obituary files, slave narrative collections, internet sites, etc. will be added as the database expands. Maximum of 4 simultaneous users allowed.
Subjects: African Studies Sub-Saharan, Ethnic Studies, History US, Biographies
Database of primary source materials related to race relations and African American communities in Atlanta, Chicago, St Louis, Brooklyn, and towns and cities in North Carolina.Expand
Covers themes such as migration, the education of freedmen, poverty and discrimination, desegregation, civil rights activities, protests, race riots, urban renewal, industry and African American culture.
Subjects: African American Studies, History US, Archives and Primary Sources
This pioneering study offers the first systematic and comprehensive longitudinal analysis of the African American electorate in America. This study describes and then explains both commonly known and newly discovered rare registration and voting data on the African American electorate.Expand
Using this empirical data, this study tells the story from the Colonial Era through the Revolutionary, Antebellum, and Civil War eras, through Reconstruction to the Disenfranchisement, pre-White Primary, and Poll Tax eras, to the Voting Rights Act (VRA), and finally to the historic presidential election of African American Senator Barack Hussein Obama, Jr., in 2008.
Subjects: African American Studies, History US, Political Science, Statistics and Demography
African American Periodicals, 1825-1995 features more than 170 wide-ranging periodicals by and about African Americans. Published in 26 states, they include academic and political journals, commercial magazines, institutional newsletters, organizations’ bulletins, annual reports and other genres.The collection is based upon James P.Expand
African American Periodicals, 1825-1995 features more than 170 wide-ranging periodicals by and about African Americans. Published in 26 states, they include academic and political journals, commercial magazines, institutional newsletters, organizations’ bulletins, annual reports and other genres.
The collection is based upon James P. Danky’s African-American Newspapers and Periodicals: A National Bibliography (Harvard, 1998). It is cross-searchable with other databases in Readex’s Archive of Americana, including African American Newspapers, 1827-1998.
Subjects: African American Studies, Area Studies, Ethnic Studies, Ethnic Studies, History US, Archives and Primary Sources
African Writers Series is a full text electronic version of the Heinemann's African Writers Series founded in 1962 to publish works by black African writers for an African readership.Expand
This series provides seminal works from the canon of African literature of the twentieth century, covering such authors as Steve Biko, Ama Ata Aidoo, and Buchi Emecheta. Texts are fully searchable and richly indexed. Author biographies are included.
Subjects: African Studies Sub-Saharan, Area Studies, English and American Literature
African American Newspapers, 1827-1998 is being created from the most extensive African American newspaper archives in the United States—those of the Wisconsin Historical Society, Kansas State Historical Society and the Library of Congress.Expand
Full-text access to these newspapers provide primary sources material about life in the Antebellum South; the spread of abolitionism; the growth of the Black church; the Emancipation Proclamation; the Jim Crow Era; the Great Migration to northern cities, the West and Midwest in search of greater opportunity; the rise of the N.A.A.C.P.; the Harlem Renaissance; the Civil Rights movement; political and economic empowerment and more.
Subjects: African American Studies, Ethnic Studies, History Modern 1800-, Archives and Primary Sources, News Sources
Electronic full text versions of: Freedom's Journal (1827-1829); The Colored American (1837-1841); The North Star (1847-1851); The National Era (1847-1853); Provincial Freeman (1854-1857); Frederick Douglass Paper (1851-1852); and The Christian Recorder (1861-Apr.Expand
1862). All are also part of the Accessible Archives database, which includes additional years of some newspapers.
Subjects: African American Studies, History US, News Sources, Archives and Primary Sources
Contains nearly 3,000 poems by African-American poets of the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries.Expand
Subjects: African American Studies, English and American Literature, Ethnic Studies
Digital collection of books, pamphlets and broadsides related to African American history and culture from the Library Company of Philadelphia’s renowned Afro-Americana collection.Expand
Subjects covered include the rise of slavery and abolition; descriptions of African American life—slave and free—throughout the Americas; slavery in fiction and drama; and printed works of African American individuals and organizations.
Subjects: African American Studies, History US
AGRICOLA contains bibliographic records from the U.S. Department of Agriculture's National Agricultural Library and covers every major agricultural subject. The citations consist of journal articles, book chapters, monographs, theses, conference proceedings, serials, technical reports, patents, software, and other materials on a broad range of agricultural topics.Expand
Subjects: African Studies Sub-Saharan, Anthropology, Biological Sciences, Environmental Sciences
Current news from over 125 African media outlets, including newspapers, news agencies and publications all over the African continent. Also includes selected African-related reports, speeches, press releases and announcements from governments, non-governmental organizations and other newsmakers, inside and outside of Africa.Expand
Includes the archive of the Africa News Service back to 1997.
Subjects: African Studies Sub-Saharan, Area Studies, News Sources
Alt HealthWatch focuses on multiple perspectives of complementary, holistic, and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. Full-text content comes from more than 160 international peer-reviewed and professional journals, magazines, reports, proceedings, and association and consumer newsletters, plus hundreds of pamphlets, booklets, special reports, original research, and book excerpts.Expand
Subjects: Anthropology, Health
Provides a search filter for PubMed which incorporates an extensive list of animal alternatives terminology that can be combined with the more specific terms of the research protocol; it also displays a listing of live PubMed searches on selected animal testing topicsExpand
Subjects: Neuroscience Animal Behavior, Biological Sciences
Alternative Press Index (1990-present) is a biannual subject index to over 300 alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines. It is the most comprehensive and up-to-date guide to alternative sources of information available.Expand1990-current
Subjects: History US, LGBT Studies, News Sources, Political Science
Alternative Press Index Archive (APIA) (1969-1990) is a bibliographic database of Alternative Press Index back files. Topics covered in the databases include theories and practices of socialism and revolution, ecology, democracy, anarchism, feminism, organized labor, indigenous peoples and LGBTT issues.Expand
Subjects: History US, LGBT Studies, News Sources, Political Science
Contains 1) Struggles for Freedom in South Africa Collection of almost 200,000 pages of primary and secondary materials documenting the fight against apartheid collected from around the world, and 2) African Cultural Heritage which provides scholarly descriptions and images (including 3-D models and maps) of important historical and cultural sites on the continent including Timbuktu, Kilwa Kisiwani,, Axum and various rock art sites.Expand
Both collections are growing.
Subjects: African American Studies, African Studies Sub-Saharan, Archives and Primary Sources, Art and Architecture, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Middle Ages 400-1450, History Modern 1800-
The database covers the FBI records on the Amerasia Affair, the great spy case of the postwar era. It “sheds light not only on debate as to who lost China, Soviet espionage, McCarthyism, and the loyalty program, but also on the bureaucratic intricacies of anti-communism in Washington.”Expand
Subjects: Government Information, Political Science
Indexes journals, book reviews, and dissertations for American history and Canadian history and culture from prehistoric times to the present.ExpandEBSCO
Subjects: African American Studies, Ethnic Studies, History US, Jewish Studies, LGBT Studies
When complete, this database will provide access to over cover-to-cover, fully searchable and browsable facsimile reproductions of over 1000 historic U.S. newspapers from all 50 states.Expand
In progress; content will continue to be added until digitization is complete. Go to Archive of Americana to search across multiple U.S. historical collections.
Subjects: Archives and Primary Sources, History US, Multidisciplinary Databases, News Sources
The American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection is a comprehensive collection of more than 6,500 American magazines and journals from the AAS, the premier library documenting the life of America’s people from the Colonial Era through the Civil War and Reconstruction. It is divided into five chronological series, which can be searched simultaneously:Expand
- Series 1 (1691-1820)
- Series 2 (1821-1837)
- Series 3 (1838-1852)
- Series 4 (1853-1865)
- Series 5 (1866-1877)
Subjects covered include art, architecture, music, literature, law, politics, religion, philosophy, science, medicine, family history and ethnic studies.Walk-in users: OK; Unlimited simultaneous users
Subjects: English and American Literature, History US, Archives and Primary Sources