- Your selections:
Database Results for Your Selections
Results 1 - 13 of 13
The Television News Archive collection at Vanderbilt University is the world's most extensive and complete archive of television news. The collection holds more than 30,000 individual network evening news broadcasts from the major U.S.Expand
national broadcast networks: ABC, CBS, NBC, and CNN, and more than 9,000 hours of special news-related programming including ABC's Nightline since 1989.
Subjects: Archives and Primary Sources, History US, Journalism, News Sources
The Vault Online Career Library provides access to free downloadable industry, career and company guides. In addition, Vault provides access to insider company research, industry research and career advice.Expand
Access to the Vault Online Career Library is limited to current Emory University undergraduate students.
Subjects: Business, Career and Job Information
Launched by Oxford University Press in 1995, Very Short Introductions offer concise introductions to a diverse range of subject areas. This particular database access covers the subject of Religion.Expand
Since the series was launched it has continued to offer new books each year for students and scholars, and the avidly curious, offering a bridge between reference content and higher academic work. All titles provide intelligent and serious introductions to a huge range of subjects, written by experts in the field who combine facts, analysis, new ideas, and enthusiasm to make challenging topics highly readable.
The Vetus Latina Database indexes biblical references by Latin Fathers and Greek patristic authors from the 2nd c. CE until the Vulgate became predominant. Each citation is listed according to book, chapter, and verse of the Bible to which it refers.Expand
Additional contents include H. J. Frede’s “Repertorium” from his Kirchenschriftsteller (1995) and updates to it made by R. Gryson. The index is collected by the Vetus Latina Institut in Beuron, Germany.
Subjects: History Ancient -400, Religion
Victorian Manuscripts from the Henry W. and Albert A. Berg Collection of The New York Public Library
Contains unique manuscripts unavailable in any medium elsewhere, supplemented by rare, printed materials, including early editions annotated by the authors. Each author collection contains the entire Berg holdings for that author.Expand
Among those represented in the collection are: Matthew Arnold, the Brontës, Elizabeth Barrett Browning, Robert Browning, Wilkie Collins, Joseph Conrad, Charles Dickens, George Eliot, George Gissing, Thomas Hardy, Henry James, Dante Gabriel Rossetti, John Ruskin, Alfred Tennyson, and William Makepeace Thackeray.
Includes unpublished poems, working notebooks, holograph manuscripts, and drawings, plus a mass of personal correspondence among the authors. This resource also sheds light on the business of Victorian publishing, documenting the writer-publisher relationship through correspondence and financial and legal documents.Walk in users: OK; unlimited simultaneous users
Subjects: Archives and Primary Sources, English and American Literature, History Modern 1800-, Philosophy, Sociology, Womens and Gender Studies
Victorian Popular Culture describes popular entertainment in America, Britain and Europe in the period from 1779 to 1930 and shows how interconnected these worlds were.Expand
The first section, ‘Sensation, Magic & Spiritualism’, explores the relationship between the popularity of Victorian magic shows and conjuring tricks and the emergence of séances and psychic phenomena in Britain and America. The second section, ‘Circuses, Sideshows and Freaks’ focuses on the world of travelling entertainment, which brought spectacle to vast audiences across Britain, America and Europe in the 19th and early 20th century. The third section, “Music Hall, Theatre and Popular Entertainment”, features material on music halls; theatre (legitimate and illegitimate); pantomime; pleasure gardens; exhibitions; and scientific institutions. The fourth section explores the pivotal era in entertainment history when previously static images came to life and moved for the first time.
Subjects: Archives and Primary Sources, English and American Literature, Ethnic Studies, History Modern 1800-, History US, History World, Theater Studies, Womens and Gender Studies
Includes the complete Ferrar Papers held in Magdalene College, Cambridge; transcripts by David R. Ransome of documents relating to the Virginia Company; and Susan Kingsbury’s Records of the Virginia Company of London (1906-35).Expand
Documents the founding, economic development, and ethnic and gender composition of early Virginia, relations among colonists and Native Americans, and the Ferrar family’s interest in the settlement of North America.
Subjects: Archives and Primary Sources, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History US, History World
Collection of audio-visual interviews from genocide survivors and witnesses. Includes coverage of the European Holocaust (1939-1945), the Armenian Genocide (1915-1923), the Nanjing Massacre (1937), the Genocide against the Tutsi in Rwanda (1994), the Guatemalan Genocide (1978-1996), the Cambodian Genocide (1975-1979), the Central African Republic Conflict (2012-Present), and Contemporary Antisemitism. To access the VHA Emory users must register with the VHA/Shoah Foundation and log-in using their personal VHA username and password.Expand
Subjects: History World, Jewish Studies, Womens and Gender Studies
An essential resource for statistical information on all aspects of U.S. politics. Tables are available in CSV and Excel formats.For help using this resource, contact Chris Palazzolo, Political Science and International Documents Librarian.Expand
Subjects: Political Science
The Vocational & Career Collection provides full-text coverage for 400 trade and industry related periodicals including American Machinist, Contemporary Longterm Care, Pediatric Nursing, Wireless Week, Drug Store News, Video Business, Reeves Journal, Hotel and Motel Management, Restaurant Business, Advertising Age, and many more.Expand
In addition to the full text, indexing and abstracts are provided for 650 journals. The majority of full-text titles are available in native (searchable) PDF, or scanned-in-color. Full-text content in this database dates as far back as 1985.
Subjects: Career and Job Information, Multidisciplinary Databases
The Vogue Archive contains the entire run of Vogue magazine (U.S. edition) from 1892 to the present day, reproduced in high-resolution color page images. Vogue is a unique record of American and international popular culture that extends beyond fashion.Expand
Subjects: Art and Architecture, History US, Multidisciplinary Databases
Brief annotations are given for links in categories such as humanities metapages, humanities centers and programs, humanities discussion groups and newsgroups, courses, and conferences.Expand
Subjects: English and American Literature, French Literature and Language, History World
Provides the most comprehensive source of data on the Atlantic slave trade. Based on the records of almost 35,000 Atlantic slave trade voyages, the database provides information on ships, crew, slave cargo, and routes.Expand
Information is supplemented by extensive maps and other resources.
Subjects: African American Studies, African Studies Sub-Saharan, Archives and Primary Sources, Area Studies, History Early Modern 1450-1800, History Modern 1800-, History US, Latin American and Caribbean Studies, Statistics and Demography